Reiki is a spiritual healing therapy that has proved beneficial for countless patients and recipients. In order for Reiki to be practiced officially, a student must be become attuned to the spiritual energy. They do this by taking classes from Reiki master teachers and receiving the energy over a certain period of time. Reiki practitioners are also exposed to various Reiki symbols that improve the effectiveness of their sessions. These symbols were designed as teaching tools for Reiki students. The symbols themselves hold no power, but the practitioner visualizes the symbols to create a stronger healing energy.

Each symbol provides the practitioner with a certain type of healing energy. We’ll detail a few of the most common symbols below.

  1. Cho Ku Rei (Power)

The Cho Ku Rei symbol is considered a power symbol, and it resembles a coil. It is meant to help hasten the healing process, and has been likened to a “light switch.” Most practitioners will use this symbol at the beginning of a healing session as a way to catalyze the curative process. But, the coil can also be visualized as both an expansion and a retraction of the healing powers. In that sense, it may also be visualized at the end of a session to retract the healing energies.

  1. Se He Kei (Mental and Emotional)

The Se He Kei symbol deals largely with the mental and emotional energies of the recipient. It works to meld the “yin” and “yang” or the left and right sides of one’s brain. Practitioners utilize this symbol when their patients are looking for mental and emotional clarity or cleansing. Out of all the Reiki symbols, the Se He Kei is the most effective at targeting emotional and mood disorders like depression, anxiety, fear, sadness, and a host of other problems. It is even said to be effective for curing otherwise unquenchable addictions like:

  • Alcoholism
  • Drug use
  • Smoking
  • Gambling
  1. Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen (Distance and Connection)

The Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen symbol is commonly referred to as the “Distance” symbol for its ability to be used when not in the presence of the recipient. Reiki healers will use this symbol when they want to provide attunement or energy from a distance. With this type of remote healing, the recipient’s auras and chakras will be affected rather than their physical body. Some teachers believe that the Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen symbol can be used to open up the Akashic Records, which can provide information on the recipient’s soul and any past or parallel lives that might be affecting them.

  1. Dai Ko Myo (Master)

The last of the four “sacred” Reiki symbols is the Dai Ko Myo. This is frequently considered the “Master” symbol because of its ability to access a higher or more divine light and energy. It is thought to be equal to the three previous symbols, but, again, operates at a much higher frequency. It is used for general empowerment and can be used during attunement, teaching, and meditation.

Of course, there are many other traditional and non-traditional symbols associated with Reiki, but these four are certain to provide a strong basis for divine healing.